Skip to main content

Douglas Heritage Museum

Explore the history of this sleepy and historic village on the south bank of the Douglas Water

Opening times:

From the 1st Saturday in April until the last Sunday in September

Saturdays and Sundays, 2pm - 5pm

Visits may be arranged at other times by special arrangement

The Museum was originally a chapel named after St. Sophia. It is believed Mary Queen of Scots spent the night here, and to show her gratitude she gifted the village with the oldest working clock in Scotland in 1565.


In 1706 the building was reconstructed to become the Parish School, a century later it was used as a Poor House offering shelter to vagrants, and it remained as such until 1961 when it was restored as an Episcopal Church. On 10 December 1978, H R H Prince Charles visited the Chapel and signed the visitor’s book. Numbers attending the church began to decline and in 1993 The Douglas Heritage Society, due to the generosity of the Douglas-Home family, was granted a long term lease of the building and it was transformed into the present Douglas Heritage Museum.

There are six very beautiful stained glass windows in the chancel, which were designed by Christopher Whall and were transferred from Douglas Castle Chapel when it was demolished.

Find out about Black Douglas, Lady Home Hospital, James Gavin and the Covenanters, The Cameronians and the Earl of Angus, Alec Douglas Home, football, mining and weaving.